Just Kids

“Nobody sees as we do, Patti” he said again. Whenever he said things like that, for a magical space of time, it was if we were the only two people in the world. – Patti Smith on Robert Mapplethorpe

With much needed downtime I’ve had the chance to go spinning again feeling the beads of sweat drip from my face and shoulders, getting lost by myself and exploring the city. I’ve also had a chance to read Just Kids by Patti Smith.  I’m almost done with the book though for my few hours I’ve romanticized and escaped to New York, the 60’s, the thrill of searching  and breathing for the sake of art.

In my low periods, I wondered what was the point of creating art. For whom? Are we animating God? Are we talking to ourselves? And what was the ultimate goal? To have one’s work caged in art’s great zoos – The Modern, The Met, the Louvre? – Patti Smith


One thought on “Just Kids

  1. As I read this last fall I felt that my belief in magic was as important as paying the mortgage and putting gas in the truck. She defines “artist” and “truth” and “love” and I am grateful. And Mapplethorpe, what vision and what shame. He is so beautiful.

Leave a Reply

