2013 fit goals

If there’s something you don’t know about me is that I’ll try anything at least once.

When it comes to physical activities I’m game for anything. Exercise is deeply personal. It wasn’t until my early 20’s that I was able to finally find a connection and feel empowerment from it.  What I always felt like a defeat became a strength and because I lost so many years I’m now trying to make up for lost time. That’s sorta how I managed to cycle from SF to LA, stair-climb the tallest LA Skyscraper and jump off a plane.

Before the holidays I began to do cross-fit. Figured it’d be a great thing to do with a friend but I just wasn’t into it. My body would yell in pain the next day. It wasn’t so much as the physical challenges that made me dread class (I welcome it) It was the intimidation factor that those classes possessed. So I stopped going. Part of me felt I weaked it.  I would try to talk myself into going but my heart wasn’t in the place. I’d find myself opting to go on long runs around the streets of LA or back on a bike saddle.

I love running and letting go, I love spinning to beat of a kick ass song while drops of sweat sting my eyes. I love hiking and focusing on the ground beneath me pushing me with momentum. Most of all, I love feeling accomplished and proud of a work out. So with that, I need to channel 2013 on to things that I love in all facets of my life. Focus on who I am now and not who I have been. (Alright, this has turned into a damn Oprah moment)  I had a small break-through in spin class last night, sue me.
So with that, here’s to 2013.

Yosemite's Half Dome Hike, look ma', I made it.

Yosemite’s Half Dome Hike, look ma’, I made it.

Leave a Reply

